Edguy: Superheroes (EP)

Edguy’s Superheroes EP


Superheroes is an EP by the German power metal band Edguy, released in 2005. 

EP “Superheroes” is a real treat for fans of melodic power metal. As someone who’s been following the band since their “Mandrake” album, I was excited to see what they had in store. However, I have to admit that I wasn’t sure what to expect when I first listened to the EP.

It feels like many of their songs are more towards straight-ahead metal. But that doesn’t mean they’ll turn to boring hard rock with the loss of their melodic power metal presence.

Track Listings

  1. “Superheroes”[3:19]
  2. “Spooks in The Attic”[4:03]
  3. “Blessing in Disguise”[4:17]
  4. “Judas at the Opera” (feat. Michael Kiske)[7:21]
  5. “The Spirit” (Magnum cover)[3:50]
  6. “Superheroes (epic version)”[3:09]


  • Tobias Sammet – Lead vocals
  • Tobias ‘Eggi’ Exxel – Bass
  • Jens Ludwig – Lead Guitar
  • Dirk Sauer – Rhythm Guitar
  • Felix Bohnke – Drums
  • Michael Kiske – Vocals on “Judas At The Opera”

Album Info

  • Released-18 October 2005
  • Recorded-Gate Studio, Wolfsburg, Germany, 2005
  • Genre-Power metal, hard rock
  • Length-26:04
  • Label-Nuclear Blast
  • Producer-Sascha Paeth & Edguy

The band had clearly moved away from their power metal roots and were leaning more towards hard rock. While some fans may have been turned off by this, I still think “Superheroes” is a great EP. The band’s enthusiasm and skill still shines through in every molecule of the music.

The title track, “Superheroes,” is a mid-tempo song that proves the band’s musicianship. It’s not easy to create a song that’s just the right speed to keep the listener engaged, but Edguy nailed it. Tobias’s vocals are also on point, adding to the song’s catchy rhythm.

“Spooks in The Attic” is a faster song that showcases the band’s power metal roots. It’s not quite as fast as some of their previous work, but it still has that signature Edguy sound.

“Blessing in Disguise” is a grandiose ballad that’s both beautiful and powerful. The atmospheres and keyboards arrangement with a faint sound of guitar crackling added at some points sets the mood perfectly for Tobias’s vocals to shine. 

And then there’s “Judas At the Opera” is a standout track on the Superheroes EP, delivering an intense dose of power metal. The fast-paced guitar riffs and drumming create a sense of urgency and energy, and the addition of a duet with a familiar voice adds even more depth to the song. Interestingly, the featured singer, Michael Kiske (Ex-Helloween), while his potential as a vocalist is undeniable, his career ultimately took a different direction towards pop-rock, which may be disappointing to some fans. Nevertheless, his powerful and impressive performance on “Judas At the Opera” demonstrates his undeniable talent and range as a singer.

“The Spirit” is a slow-burning hard rock that gradually builds up to another round of “Superheroes.” The emphasis is on Tobias’s vocals, accompanied by acoustic in textures. It’s a beautiful track that shows off the band’s versatility.

Okay, hold onto your capes folks, because “Superheroes” (Epic Version)  just got an epic upgrade! This time around, it’s a ballad that’s sure to tug at your heartstrings with its beautiful piano and string accompaniment. And let’s not forget the powerful vocals that will make you feel like you can take on the world! With two versions of this gem in the EP, Edguy has really outdone themselves. One version gets you pumped up and ready to save the world, while the other version takes you on a journey of emotion and introspection. So, what are you waiting for? fly high with this epic ballad!

Overall, Superheroes is a great EP that fans of melodic power metal will enjoy. The variety of music is impressive, and the band’s skill and enthusiasm are infectious. So, if you’re looking for some cool and classy melodic power metal, give this EP a listen. You won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

Scroll to top
%d bloggers like this: